September 1, 2005

Charlotte-Mecklenburg Historic Landmarks Commission

"The single most powerful historic preservation tool under North Carolina Law is the legal entity known as a Historic Landmarks Commission, sometimes called Historic Properties Commission. It exists to recommend the designation of individually significant historic property, both real and personal, as historic landmarks and to secure the preservation of same. It derives its powers from North Carolina General Statute 160A-400, which enables local governments to create a Historic Landmarks Commission The Charlotte-Mecklenburg Historic Landmarks Commission (C-MHLC) was established by joint action of the Charlotte City Council and the Board of Commissioners of Mecklenburg County in 1973. The C-MHLC functions for Charlotte, the unincorporated portions of Mecklenburg County, and the Towns of Matthews, Mint Hill, and Huntersville."

Read more about the Commission's work by clicking on the title link.

Click here to see the Coffey House, built by James Morrow Coffey in 1886. A photo of the house is about half way down the page.

Contact Form


Email *

Message *